World Tourism Forum Institute logo
“As we look ahead into the next
century, leaders will be those who
empower others.”
Bill Gates
Leader in Tourism Award
With the World Tourism Leader Award, our primary aim is to recognize and celebrate the unsung heroes of the tourism industry.
Why Do We Present World Tourism Leader Award?
The need to be appreciated and the need to belong are among the most important and basic needs we have as human beings. In the travel, tourism, and hospitality industry, often the real heroes are the people who work tirelessly behind the scenes, go the extra mile, and make outstanding contributions while carrying out their regular jobs with a smile on their faces. It is their commitment that creates an exceptional guest experience. These leaders are often not visible or recognized for their dedication or commitment to excellence. With the World Tourism Leader Award, our main aim is to bring out the real heroes of the tourism industry.
Sebastien Borget
Co-Founder & COO of The Sandbox
Winner of 2022 Leader in Tourism Award
Joko Widodo
President of Indonesia
Winner of 2021 Leader in Tourism Award
Marechal Idriss Deby Itno
President of Republic of Chad
Winner of 2020 Leader in Tourism Award
Abiy Ahmed Ali Prime
Minister of Ethiopia
Winner of 2019 Leader in Tourism Award
Jack Straw
Foreign Minister of the UK (2001-2006)
Winner of 2017 Leader in Tourism Award
Jose Manuel Barroso
President, European Commission (2004-2014)
Winner of 2016 Leader in Tourism Award
Fredrik Reinfeldt
Prime Minister, Kingdom of Sweden (2006-2014)
Winner of 2015 Leader in Tourism Award